*Updated 8/23/16 to reflect using an entire box of pasta which is how we traditionally prepare it!

This is one of those recipes that has been made 800 times by your family.  So when my friend alerted me it wasn’t on the blog, it finally warranted me getting out of my year and 1/2 long slump of not posting.  I’m not sure anyone is still out there; however, I have missed having the new recipes we’ve enjoyed in an easily accessible location! We have an amazing reason for being absent and trying fewer recipes.  It’s been a busy time, but that fantastic reason is that we have an almost one year old son!!!

This is the baked mac and cheese recipe we go back to time and time again. Hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese {peasandcues}

Macaroni & Cheese

  • 1 – 16 oz. pkg. Cavatappi pasta
  • 6 Tbsp. butter
  • 6 1/4 cups grated cheese (I like to use a blend of sharp cheddar (white or yellow) and a softer, melting cheese like colby jack)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 tsps. salt
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Potato chips or croutons, crushed (We prefer croutons.)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Spray a 2 qt. casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray.

Cook pasta per manufacturer’s directions for al dente.  Drain pasta and return to the pot.

Stir butter into pasta until melted.  Add 6 cups of the cheese, milk, salt and pepper. Pour into casserole dish.

Bake 30 minutes.  Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup of cheese and chips or croutons and broil for one minute or until brown on top.

Slightly adapted from a recipe my mom has been making for years…I will update with the cookbook source next time I’m home!

