I’ve thought about this little blog a lot lately.  I do miss it but have gotten easily distracted by other things, and I’m not sure if anyone’s even looking at it anymore as a result of my bad posting habits. We moved into a new home in a new city with a new job into a brand new home so we’ve done a lot of decorating, had our basement finished, explored, traveled, etc.  I tried a couple times and sadly both the WordPress software and Picasa picture sharing software changed, and I still need to go back and figure things out…anyone know how to make the image link work?  It used to have a link that I could image share through but now WordPress doesn’t recognize that link as acceptable…  Hopefully once I figure that out, it’ll be back to semi-regular posting.

Anyways!  Corrie’s family has a fun Breakfast at Wimbledon tradition where they partake in strawberries and cream while watching the men’s final.  This year, my mother-in-law came to visit us for it!  We had strawberries and cream as well as some strawberry pancakes which I don’t think I had honestly ever had before, but I do think will become another yummy pancake recipe in our rotation.

Strawberry Puree Pancakes

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup strawberry puree (approximately 2 cups of fresh strawberries)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter

Blend washed, hulled strawberries in a food processor until pureed.  Set aside.

Mix together  flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, lightly beat the eggs.  To the eggs, about 1 cup of the milk, strawberry puree, and then the melted butter.  Mix well.

Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture and whisk together to get all the lumps out. If the batter is still dry or lumpy, add more milk until the batter is wet and smooth.

Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat, grease with butter or cooking spray.  Pour out 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake.  Once air bubbles have formed on top, flip and cook until done on the remaining side.

Serve with powdered sugar or syrup.

Recipe found at Heather Drive Source: Adapted from Cin Cin, Let’s Eat!

