Whew…

That was a long stretch.  We obviously agreed to the move, but they, of course, never go as planned.  And although I think we’ve been relatively up-beat about it, I do actually mean NOTHING went as planned on tries one, two, or three.  I’ve been told multiple times that I should write a book (not a good sign), and people who see me daily and therefore know when various things are going on refer to it “the move from hell” (probably a worse sign ;).

I now have a moving hashtag, #thejoysofmoving, but I’m not on Twitter. Cest la vie.  We’re healthy, happy, and ready to enjoy the heck of out our new home!

So let’s get back to what’s important…FOOD.

I do have lots of recipes/half-finished posts/random pictures, but now I don’t know what goes with what so that may still take a little time to sort through.  I also need to quickly segway into some healthy eating recipes, because 5-ish months of relocation/temporary housing/#thejoysofmoving does not equate to me liking the way my pants fit!

However, this pizza I still remember eating despite it being all these months later.  It’s also a great vegetarian option, and I’ve mentioned once or twice fifty times that I’m always storing away for new ideas of things to make for my fantastic brother, George.

Mexican Pizza

  • Pizza dough
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • ½ tsp. cumin
  • ¼ tsp. paprika
  • ¼ tsp. cayenne
  • 3 tbsp. chicken broth, veggie broth or water
  • 3 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3 oz. shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • ¼ cup red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup tomato, seeded and diced
  • 1/3 cup corn (fresh or frozen)
  • 3-4 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  • Salt and pepper, to taste


Preheat the oven (with the pizza stone inside) at 500˚ F for at least 30 minutes.  Roll out pizza dough into a 12-14 inch round.  Lightly brush the perimeter of the dough with olive oil.

Combine the black beans, cumin, paprika and cayenne in the bowl of a food processor.  Puree until ground into a paste.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  With the processor running, add the broth through the feed tube until a smooth mixture is formed.  Smooth the bean puree onto the shaped pizza crust in an even layer(like Annie, I also used about ¾ of the puree).  Then spread the cheddar and monterey jack cheese over the bean puree in an even layer.  Evenly distributethe jalapeño, red onion, tomato, corn and cilantro on top.  Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer the pizza to the pre-heated pizza stone and bake until the cheese is melted and bubbling and the crust is lightly browned, about 10-12 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool slightly before slicing.

Source:  Annie’s Eats

