When I make banana bread I always seem to have the issue that the top doesn’t cook as fast as the sides, so the last two times I’ve made it, I’ve ended up additionally using a itty bitty baby loaf pan with it, and when you remember to take it out a little earlier than you big loaf like I essentially half remembered to do here, it works out perfectly for me.  Until I find another solution, this is what my gameplan will be.

I LOVED this bread.  Corrie thought the flavor was great but didn’t love the texture of the coconut throughout (and he does like coconut), so keep that in mind if you have “coconut texture issues” of any sort.   Although I might run the coconut through a few pulses of a food processor for him next time, this recipe is getting kept for me!

Coconut Banana Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I didn’t have whole wheat so I just used an additional 1/2 c. of all-purpose)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt (I used light.)
  • 3 tablespoons Kentucky Whiskey (or dark rum)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup flaked sweetened coconut + 1 tbsp coconut, divided
  • Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl and stir with a whisk.

Place granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.

Add banana, yogurt, whiskey, and vanilla; beat until blended. Add flour mixture; beat at low speed just until moist. Stir in shredded coconut. Spoon batter into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon coconut.

Bake at 350° for 45 minutes to an 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes on a wire rack; remove from pan.

Source: Culinary Adventures of a New Wife; Adapted from Cooking Light

