Side dishes are not my specialty.  I am usually good about planning and making the main meal, and then when it’s essentially time to sit down and eat I go, oh!,  we probably wanted a side dish.  One night I actually thought ahead and remedied this with this potato salad which is reminiscent of a loaded baked potato (or vegetarian baked potato if you leave the bacon out!).  Obviously full of yummy flavors, my only change could be to add maybe a touch of white wine vinegar or dijon mustard (or possibly both) to add an extra layer of interest.  I’ve suggested these below in case you try it!

Baked Potato Salad      Serves 6-8

  • 4 large russet potatoes
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise (I used 1/4 reduced-fat mayo and the remainder “salad dressing” which I think is essentially miracle whip)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used reduced-fat.)
  • 1/2 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar
  • 1/4 cup chopped chives, divided
  • 8 strips thick cut bacon, cooked crisp and chopped
  • Salt and fresh cracked black pepper

Possible additions: 1 Tbsp. white wine vinegar and/or 1 Tbsp. dijon mustard

In a medium bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise and sour cream (and vinegar or dijon if using).  Add 3/4 of the chopped chives, salt, and pepper, and stir to combine.  Then add in the cheese and bacon.  Cover and chill for thirty minutes.

Peel and cube the potatoes into 1/2″ pieces.  Cook the potatoes in salted water until fork tender.  Drain and cool slightly.

Fold the cooked potatoes into the chilled dressing.

Serve warm or chilled.  Garnish with the remaining chives.

Recipe slightly adapted from Evil Shenanigans

