I’m not sure where my mom originally got this recipe, but it’s such an easy soup to throw together when the cold weather strikes (especially with the canned soup shortcut)!  YUM!

**Update – My mom said it came from the back of a Campbell’s Bean and Bacon Soup can in 1978.  How does she remember years like that???

My only two tips to add: if you’re freezing the soup, don’t add the pasta to the portion you’re going to freeze.  I find pasta tends to break down in soups that are frozen then reheated.  Also, if you double this, I think the bacon becomes a little overpowering, because you’re using two bean and bacon soups, so I will probably just make this in single batches until I figure out an alternative. 😉

Minestrone Soup

  • 3 slices finely chopped bacon
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 tsp basil dried or 1 tab fresh basil
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 1 can bean and bacon soup
  • 1 1/2 cans water
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup ditalini or any small tube macaroni
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup cabbage cut in long thin shreds
  • 1 cup cubed zucchini

In large saucepan, brown the bacon.  When almost browned to your desired stage of bacon “doneness”, add the onion, celery, and garlic.  Saute until tender.  Add basil, soup, broth, water, tomatoes, pasta and salt.  Bring to boil and then cover.  Reduce heat to simmer for 15 minutes.  Add cabbage and zucchini, and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

Makes 8 cups

