This recipe is a Paula Deen recipe called “Not Your Momma’s” Banana Pudding, but this was in fact banana pudding made by my Mom! Traditionally I find banana pudding just okay – I don’t love how the Nilla wafers tend to soften under the pudding, and the pudding itself is generally kind of bland on its own since it’s most often found in undoctored instant pudding form. But this, my friends, was a banana pudding for the ages.  DE-LICIOUS.

I had a banana pudding in my saved files with amaretti cookies, because both my daddy and Corrie love banana pudding.  While that may get to trot out at some point for a test drive, I think this is going to hold down as the reigning favorite.

It is perfect for a potluck, family or holiday gathering, because it makes a ton.  So, I brought some to my in-laws celebration and rumor has it the famous Monya loved it too! Like I said, repeat worthy.

My Momma’s Banana Pudding

  • 2 bags Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies
  • 6 to 8 bananas, sliced
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 (5-ounce) box instant French vanilla pudding
  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed

Line the bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch dish with 1 bag of cookies and layer bananas on top.

In a bowl, combine the milk and pudding mix and blend well using a handheld electric mixer. Using another bowl, combine the cream cheese and condensed milk together and mix until smooth. Fold the whipped topping into the cream cheese mixture. Add the cream cheese mixture to the pudding mixture and stir until well blended. Pour the mixture over the cookies and bananas and cover with the remaining cookies.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Recipe from Paula Deen

