I love how festive these came out, and…I love that you could adapt them for pretty much any holiday!  Valentine’s Day – layer red and pink with white icing or red and white with pink icing or pink and white with red icing…okay, I think you get the idea.  Anyways, these will be stuck in my back pocket as a handy, festive go-to treat!

P.S.  I really should have cut one open and photographed it, but I just didn’t think that far ahead in the midst of party prep…sigh.  Underneath that orange layer was a yellow layer…trust me…I’m not a doctor. 😉

Candy Corn Cupcakes

  • 1 box plain white cake mix (I like yellow cake better so that’s what I used since I knew I wasn’t having a “white” layer in the cupcakes!)
  • 1 cup sour cream (I used light)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Food coloring – for candy corn ones – yellow and orange
  • Whipped topping or buttercream frosting
  • Candy corn

Preheat oven according to cake mix directions.  Place cupcake liners in cupcake tins.

Combine cake mix, sour cream, vegetable oil, milk, and eggs into a large bowl.  Mix according to the cake mix directions.

Divide batter evenly into two separate bowls.  Color half of the batter with a few drops (or to whatever shade you like) of orange food coloring – if you don’t have orange food coloring use 1 drop of red food coloring to every two drops of yellow.  Color the other half of the batter with a few drops of yellow food coloring.

Fill each cupcake liner 1/4 of the way with the yellow batter.  Place the muffin tin in the freezer for about 8-10 minutes to help avoid the layers from blending together too much.  Top with orange batter until liner is about 1/2 or slightly more full.

Bake according to cake mix package directions.

Cool cupcakes completely.  Top with whipped topping or buttercream frosting just before serving and decorate with a piece of candy corn.

Refrigerate any remaining cupcakes.

Recipe: very slightly adapted from a recipe card Kroger sent me 😉

