My mommy has now asked me several times when I was going to post the recipe for these, which obviously makes me happy as I know they were a hit! These cupcakes served more than quadruple duty.  I took a couple to friend’s birthday, sent a couple into work with Corrie for a friend, took a couple to a friend’s house, and then took the next day to Cleveland with us for our parents.  WHEW!
The brown sugar adds a different but very tasty element to these cupcakes.  They’re a little denser than your typical cupcake, but I really enjoyed the more complex flavor I thought they had.
Brown Sugar Cupcakes
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tsp. vanilla
  • Two drops each of maple, almond & lemon flavorings (optional) (I used about 5 drops of almond as that was all I had on hand.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In your large mixing bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar and eggs.  Add remaining ingredients and beat only until batter is well mixed.  Place cupcake liners in muffin tins.  Scoop batter into cups about 2/3 of the way full.  Bake for 18-20 minutes, or just until the tops of the cupcakes have set. Remove from oven and cool.

Buttercream Frosting

  • 2 sticks butter, slightly softened
  • Flavorings or Extracts (I again used a few drops of Almond to mimic the cupcakes.)
  • 2 pounds powdered sugar (I ended up using about 1.75 lbs.)
  • Up to a 1/2 cup milk (I ended up using about 3 Tbsp. of half-n-half as I was out of milk!)

To create a fluffy, flavorful basic buttercream, begin by whipping the butter in a large bowl until fluffy. Add any flavorings (1/4 tsp. -1/2 tsp. of a flavored extract, a splash of fruit juice, a scoop of cocoa powder, a spoonful of peanut butter, etc.) then add half of the powdered sugar. Whip with an electric mixer. Slowly begin to add milk a few tablespoons at a time until desired consistency is reached. For a slightly thicker frosting, add powdered sugar by the half cup, as needed. If you’ll need more frosting than 2 lbs. of sugar can make, be sure to add a stick of butter for every 1 lb. of powdered sugar.

Source for both recipes: Conversations With a Cupcake


