It’s official.  I am now old enough that I have a good friend who has had her first child, a beautiful little girl!  My decorating job wasn’t the best as I ran out of time…so here we are.  I sent them anyways, because THESE COOKIES ARE SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS, and because I wanted to let her know I was thinking of her even if I was stuck a gazillion miles away in the South.

These made some tasty cookies, at least the ones I may or may not have tried right out of the oven, so this is a keeper!

Vanilla-Almond Sugar Cookies
Recipe found at Bake at 350

  • 3 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar (she uses sugar that vanilla beans are store in)
  • 2 sticks salted butter, cold and cut into cubes
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. pure almond extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine the flour and baking powder, set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar.  Mix in the egg, almond extract, and vanilla extract.  Then, add the flour mixture slowly, a little bit at a time, and mix only until combined, scraping down the bowl as you go.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface and cut into desired shapes.   Transfer to parchment lined baking sheets, and bake for 10-12 minutes.  Allow to cool a couple minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.  Either eat some straight out of the oven (whoops) or ice with royal icing and allow to dry overnight.

