Obviously the addition of graduate school to the life/work routine has thrown quite  a wrench into my availability of free time, and this blog has definitely suffered for it.  I find myself wanting to try a lot of new recipes, but not always with the motivation to fit it in, and the biggest thing that suffers is probably the photography.  I basically “document” making something by throwing it on a plate at 10:30 PM when it’s pitch black out and snap a picture.  Alas, one day I may have the desire and time to make my pictures snazzy.

These cookies were a good snack on a study day and were incredibly moist.  My only change for next time is I would try chilling the dough a bit beforehand, because I seemed to have a problem with them spreading more than they should have.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Recipe found at Lovin’ from the Oven

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 medium eggs (I used large.)
  • Extra granulated sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat together butter, peanut butter, and vanilla extract, then add in sugars, salt, and baking powder.  Gradually add the flour.  Next, beat in eggs, one at a time.

Portion out 1 1/2″ balls and roll the balls in the extra granulated sugar.  Using a fork, make a criss-cross pattern, slightly flattening the cookie.  Bake for 12-13 minutes.  Cool on the cookie sheet 8 minutes before moving to a cooling rack to cool completely before storing.

