There were allegations of people stealing from other’s cookie bags over these little cookies, which made me very happy girl. 🙂  I was a bit surprised to be honest, because I tried a piece and thought, being “the girl that they don’t know what is wrong with” since I don’t love love chocolate that I could do without the chocolate.  Guess I was wrong.  It’s *ok* that I was wrong.  In fact, in this case, I’m pretty happy about it!

Chocolate (Peppermint) Bark Shortbread

Recipe from RecipeGirl

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 6 ounces bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, chopped or use chocolate chips (I used 1/2 bittersweet and half semi-sweet)
  • 1 cup Hershey’s Candy Cane Kisses, chopped (or use crumbled candy canes) (I looked at a couple places and although I know I saw them somewhere BEFORE I started looking for them; I unfortunately couldn’t find them and just omitted.)
  • 2 ounces white chocolate

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Lightly spray a 13×9×2-inch metal baking pan with non-stick spray, and line the bottom of pan with parchment paper (a piece long enough to leave you overhang on the short sides of pan.)

Combine flour and salt in medium bowl.   Beat butter in a mixer bowl until light and fluffy (about 2 minutes).   Slowly add the sugar to the butter and continue beating until it’s again light and fluffy (about 3 minutes).  If you don’t have a beater blade that automatically scrapes down your bowl (I don’t yet.), make sure to scrape down the sides a couple times to make sure everything is throughly incorporated.   Then, beat in then vanilla followed by the egg yolk.  Once incorporated, slowly add the flour mixture, and mix on low speed until just incorporated.

Evenly space out spoonfuls of dough into the baking pan, and using moistened fingertips, press the dough to form even layer over bottom of pan. Pierce the top of dough randomly with a fork.  Bake approximately 30 minutes or until light golden brown,  slightly puffed, and edges have begun to come away from the sides of pan.  Place pan on cooling rack, and evenly spread out the chocolate on top.  The chocolate should begin to soften in 3-5 minutes, and using a small offset spatula, spread it evenly over the cookie.   Then, if you can find them!, evenly spread out the chopped candy cane kisses over the top.

Place white chocolate and a 1/2 tsp. of shortening in a microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave for 15 seconds, then stir, and repeat this process until the white chocolate is melted.  Then using a spoon or fork, drizzle over the cookie.  Chill approximately 30 minutes or until chocolate is set.

Grab the parchment paper to help you lift the cookie out of the pan where you can cut it into diamonds or bars or whatever you choose.

The recipe also stated this could be made ahead. I didn’t do this so I’m leaving the original instructions.
* Can be made 1 week ahead. Store in refrigerator (or freezer) in airtight containers between layers of waxed paper or parchment paper. Can be stored in the freezer for several weeks.

