Mr. Corrie wanted to distribute Christmas cookies to his family (I was avoiding making cookies, because I knew there was Baklava, Coconut Jam Thumbprints, Mammoul, and a gazillion other cookies waiting for us in Cleveland), but you know how that goes, he’s cute and ran out of time so I spent a full day in the kitchen baking a few little treats and am sharing them now that everyone is throughly sick of cookies!

I love these cookies; soft with a hint of peppermint.  Unfortunately I like them too much, and MY JEANS DON’T FIT. hahaha.  Anxiety? Nah, okay well maybe a little. 😉

Candy Cane Cookies

Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker

1 cup sugar
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla
11/2 teaspoons peppermint extract
1 egg
31/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon red food color (I used red gel coloring as that’s what I had on hand, but I would have gotten a better red with the liquid I think.)
Mix together sugar, butter, milk, vanilla, peppermint extract and egg in large bowl. Then add in flour, baking powder and salt.

Divide dough in half. Stir food color into 1 half. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours.

Heat oven to 375ºF.
For each candy cane, shape 1 rounded teaspoon of dough from each color into 4-inch rope by rolling back and forth on floured surface. Place 1 red and white rope side by side; press together lightly and twist. Place on ungreased cookie sheet; curve top of cookie down to form handle of cane.
Bake 9 to 12 minutes or until set and very light brown.  Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack and cool completely.
