This was one of those meals that just hit the spot.  Homemade pizza dough topped with tangy ingredients and baked until the cheese was melted and delicious.  I want to make it again just thinking about it.  I had seen several recipes for buffalo chicken and barbeque chicken pizzas online, but I was too lazy to go upstairs to print one off, so I just made my own.  Also, since I was feeling lazy that day and had a coupon for a rotesserie chicken to a store I was already going to, I used it to avoid cooking the chicken.  I made this for lunch a few Saturdays ago, and we happily munched on it all the way through dinner!

Barbeque Chicken Pizza

  • 1 cup cooked chicken, shredded
  • 3 Tbsp. + 1/4 cup of barbeque sauce
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced into half moons
  • 1 Tbsp.  granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 c. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 recipe pizza dough (I made the full and then made two pizzas…)

Place the pizza stone in the lower third of the oven, and then preheat oven to 500 degrees.   While preheating, caramelize the red onions with the sugar over low to medium-low heat in a saute pan.  Mix the shredded chicken with the 3 Tbsp. of barbeque sauce in a small bowl.

Once preheated, remove the pizza stone from the oven and lay your shaped pizza dough on top.  Then spread the remaining barbeque sauce on top leaving a 1″ border “sauceless”.  Top with chicken, onions, and cheese.

Bake for 8-12 minutes until edges are light brown.  Sprinkle cilantro over the top and let sit for 5 minutes to it doesn’t fall apart when you cut it (as my picture below shows, I was a little impatient!).

