At first I thought the herb dressing might be a little strange with the pork chops as it wasn’t a combination I’d ever had before, but I enjoyed it!  These were super easy to make and healthy (a Cooking Light recipe) to boot!

Panko-Crusted Pork Chops with Creamy Herb Dressing

Recipe found at: Taste and Tell; Originally from Cooking Light

ALERT: THIS IS ONLY FOR TWO SERVINGS. I may have realized this as I started to cook four pork chops…so I just doubled the dry ingredients; the egg was enough for all four.

  • 2  teaspoons  all-purpose flour
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  onion powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  ground cumin
  • 1/4  teaspoon  chili powder
  • 1/8  teaspoon  ground red pepper
  • 1  teaspoon  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  large egg white
  • 1/3  cup  panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • 2  (4-ounce) boneless center-cut loin pork chops (about 1/2 inch thick)
  • 1  teaspoon  canola oil
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  tablespoon  chopped green onions
  • 1  tablespoon  chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 2  tablespoons  fat-free sour cream (I used reduced-fat.)
  • 1  tablespoon  fat-free milk
  • 1  tablespoon  reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1  teaspoon  cider vinegar
  • 1/4  teaspoon  garlic powder

I didn’t change anything so these directions are directly from the website.

Preheat oven to 450°.  Combine first 6 ingredients in a shallow dish.  Combine soy sauce and egg white in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Place panko in a shallow dish.

Dredge pork in flour mixture; dip in egg mixture. Dredge in panko. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add pork to pan; cook 1 minute on each side. Place pork on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 6 minutes or until done. (I don’t like any pink, so I cooked probably an additional 8-10 minutes.)

For the dressing, combine onions and the remaining ingredients. Serve dressing with pork.

