Corrie and I used to frequently pick up Chipotle for a quick dinner when we were living in Columbus.  It was literally around the corner, quick, and pretty darn tasty.  Unfortunately, Knoxville doesn’t boast a Chipotle although there are several other similar establishments, but since we don’t live close to anything, it probably doesn’t matter anyways. 😉  The best thing at Chipotle is the guacamole in my opinion, so I have Corrie – who makes a mean guacamole – make me up a batch from time to time.  It can’t be all the time, because well, I have no self-control.

Anyways,  I decided to make us up our own little Chipotle style burrito bowls, and Cor graciously made up some guacamole (I think he got something out of the deal).

I combined the rice with onions and peppers, sour cream, black beans with a bit of cumin, lettuce, salsa, freshly grated cheese, and GUACAMOLE.  Yum, I think I might make this again after we enjoy the Thanksgiving season!

 

Chipotle-Style Rice

Recipe slightly adapted from chipotlefan.com

  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 2/3 c. basmati rice
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. fresh cilantro, chopped

Melt the butter in a large saucepan.  Add the rice and lime juice, stir, and allow to cook for about a minute.  Then add the water and salt.  Bring to a boil, cover, and simmer for about 25 minutes until the water is absorbed.  Fluff with a fork and add in the cilantro.

