O-H—I-O!!  One of the best things about being from Ohio is being exposed to these tasty treats on a regular basis.  I actually made these twice.  Once just for us (the picture below), but I thought they were a little dry, so when Corrie went out to visit his brother for a few days before they headed to Vegas, so I mailed these out as a thank-you adapting a base recipe to fit my “needs”.  To my dismay, they arrived a little deformed –  guess buckeyes aren’t the ultimate travel item, but  I was told they at least still tasted good.  My brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and nieces always get them when they go to Ohio to visit, but they’re not exactly readily available in California.  Those west coast people don’t know what they’re missing!   Who knew a poisonous nut would be such a tasty treat…

A peanut butter center dipped in chocolate; it’s basically an improved Reese’s peanut butter cup!

Buckeyes

Recipe adapted from here there and everywhere.  I think I just kept adding until I got what I liked!

  • 16 oz. peanut butter (I’ve tried reduced-fat peanut butter without great success.  I recommend the full-fledged good stuff!  Definitely don’t use all-natural – it will separate I’m told.)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 1/2-6 cups powdered’ sugar
  • 4 cups milk chocolate chips (I’ve also done a mix of semisweet and milk or all semisweet)
  • 1 TBSP. shortening

Using your mixer, cream the butter.   Add the peanut butter and vanilla and beat until combined.  Add the powdered sugar about 1/2 cup at a time until mixture is completely combined.  It shouldn’t be overly wet at this point, just enough so that it can hold its shape in a ball when rolled.

Using a small cookie scoop or spoon, roll about 1″ balls and place them on a wax-paper lined cookie sheet.  Once you’ve rolled all the mixture into balls, place in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes until firm.

Melt the chocolate chips and shortening in a microwave-safe bowl mixing every 20 seconds or so until melted or in a double-boiler.   Remove the peanut butter balls from the freezer, and using a toothpick stuck in the very center, dip the ball into the chocolate to coat everything but the “top” of the buckeye.    Place back onto the wax-paper and refrigerate until the chocolate is set.  You can also smooth over the hole the toothpick leaves with your clean haha finger if desired. 🙂  Then yum yum yum!

WARNING: THESE ARE ADDICTING!

