I had originally planned on making this with beef; however, I thought I had some in the freezer, and I didn’t so I used chicken instead.   It was still delicious, so I think other than the fact that I’d like to try this with beef, I would also let the sauce reduce down even further to become even more syrupy since I’m a strange bird and that’s how I like it!

Mongolian Chicken and Broccoli

Adapted from Love and Olive Oil/Dinner and Dessert

  • 2 tsp. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • 1 lb. flank steak or chicken, sliced or cut into chunks
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 large green onions, chopped
  • 1 cup broccoli, chopped (supposed to be microwaved for 2 minutes but I skipped this as I like my vegetables with some bite left)

Heat 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Then add the ginger and garlic taking care to add the soy sauce and water before the garlic burns.  Add the brown sugar and stir to dissolve.  Raise heat slightly and boil the sauce for 2-3 minutes or until the sauce thickens. Remove it from the heat.

I didn’t do this section….Slice the flank steak against the grain into 1/4″ thick bite-size slices. Tilt the blade of your knife at about a forty five degree angle to the top of the steak so that you get wider cuts. Dip the steak pieces into the cornstarch to apply a very thin dusting to both sides of each piece of beef. Let the beef sit for about 10 minutes so that the cornstarch sticks.

Heat oil in a wok or large skillet until it just begins to ripple but isn’t smoking.  Add the chicken/beef and cook  on both sides until browned.  Next add the onions (and broccoli if you didn’t steam it; otherwise add at the end until heated through) and sauté for 2-3 minutes.   Pour the sauce  in and cook until thickened to taste.  Serve over rice if desired.

