I’ve made this quiche more than most menu items.  It’s delicious, vegetarian (always handy when my awesome brother is around), and other than prepping some ingredients very simple to put together.  I used to rarely eat quiche growing up, because it always seemed to contain mushrooms; so, this is a big winner for me!

I did do one thing differently this time, which I’ll be making a few adjustments for next time.  My mom gave me one of those removable bottom tart pans, but I wasn’t thinking and had put the crust on the stove top to cool.  Well, since it’s uneven and the crust had shrunk, when I went to move the then full pan, a little overflowed out the bottom so the crust isn’t as pretty as usual.  Also, our tomato had gone bad so it was omitted, and I may or may not have forgotten to stir the basil in so it just ended up scattered on top; hey I got up early to make this so cut me a little slack. 🙂

Summer Savory Quiche

Originally found at Southern Living Magazine

  • 1 refrigerated (1/2 of a 15 oz. pkg.) or homemade piecrust (I’ve done it both ways and both are great!)
  • 1 small red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 purple onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh basil, chopped
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 3 plum tomatoes, sliced into 1/4″ thick slices

Fit the pie crust into a 9″ (deep-dish) tart pan; prick the bottom and sides of the crust with a fork.  Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes, then remove and set aside.

Saute bell pepper, onion, and garlic in hot olive oil for 5 minutes or until tender.  Then stir in the basil.

Whisk together eggs, half and half, salt, and pepper in a large bowl, and once combined, stir in the sauteed vegetables and cheeses.  Pour the mixture into the piecrust and top with the tomato slices.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes or until set.  The recipe says you can shield the edges with aluminum foil after 30 minutes to avoid excessive browing, but I’ve never had this problem.

Let stand 5 minutes before serving otherwise it will fall apart too much when you cut into it.

