This ice cream reminds me of Anchorman.  Made with real bits of (panther) vanilla bean so you know it’s good.  I wanted to try a non-egg tempering version of ice cream, and since I love vanilla bean ice cream, this worked perfectly.

The ice cream maker lives, but for how long?  I received a glorious (and extremely dangerous to the waistline) ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid for one of my birthday presents.  The only problem is it apparently doesn’t fit models older than a certain year, and since my KitchenAid was originally my Sitti’s (grandmother), it’s older than that.  It’s works, but it doesn’t “snap” in like it should, so I’m not sure where to go from here.  I should probably get one of those counter models, but I haven’t gone that far yet, and then I have to find room in my cabinets to store something else!!

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

From The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup whole milk or half and half
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Combine 1 cup of the cream and the sugar into a medium saucepan.  Then scrape the seeds out of the vanilla bean and add both the seeds and the bean itself to the saucepan.  On medium heat, continue to stir the mixture until the sugar is dissolved.  Then take it off the heat, and add the remaining ingredients.

Place the mixture in the refrigerator to chill for at least eight hours or overnight.  Once thoroughly chilled, remove the vanilla bean, and freeze in your ice cream maker.

