When Corrie drives home there’s always this ridiculous spot that slows to a crawl for no reason.  Once past the spot, traffic resumes as normal…usually.  However, on the night I made this, my perfectly planned (for once) timing was for naught when it took him an extra 45 minutes to get home.  At first I thought the dressing had gotten thicker, because I had chilled it, but I also think it was attributable to failing to read the original post and only reading the actual recipe.  Ree (the Pioneer Woman Cooks) says in her post that you’re supposed to use the less flavorful sesame oil and that you’re supposed to drizzle it over the pasta to coat to keep it from sticking while it cools, but the recipe probably assumes people are smart enough to think of that on their own…no comment.

Nevertheless, now that I have a couple new ‘tricks’ I want to try next time I make this, I would definitely say I’ll make it again – even without because I tasted it and made a few modifications, it was pretty darn tasty.  Especially if I can find the red chile oil, which, for whatever reason, I wasn’t able to find the time I went looking for it.

Note:  This recipe makes a ton, so if you’re only two people like us, you may want to halve it!

Spicy Peanut Pasta

Found at: Pioneer Woman

  • 1 1/2 lbs. linguine (or any thicker pasta noodle)
  • 5 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter (I used smooth, because it’s what I had on hand…)
  • 3/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 4 –  5 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 6 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 3 tsp. red chile oil (updated 10/27/09 – made this yesterday WITH the chili oil, and it was still good but a little too much kick at 1-2 tbsp.; I would add a little then taste it to see what your preference is!)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup sesame oil (can also use 1/2 cup olive oil)  THIS IS THE “LESS FLAVORFUL” STUFF – aka not the small bottle
  • 1 – 2 tbsp. toasted sesame oil – the “flavorful” stuff
  • 1 large bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced

Cook and drain linguine.  Drizzle with the less flavorful sesame oil to keep it from sticking, and set it aside to cool to room temperature.

In a blender or food processor, combine garlic, peanut butter, soy sauce, red wine vinegar, and brown sugar, and pulse until smooth.   Then, if you can find it, add the chile oil and pulse again until smooth.  Then leaving the blender or food processor running, drizzle in the other oils through the “hole” in the top until the mixture is smooth enough to be poured.  If you’ve added all the oils and still no luck, add some water to thin it to the desired consistency.  If you’re not eating the pasta right away, chill the dressing seperately until you’re ready to eat.  Once you’re ready, combine the pasta, dressing (add slowly until you have enough to properly coat, but I didn’t end up using all my dressing), cilantro, and green onions.