I’m picky about meat – very, very picky.  My posting lapse was caused by a in-residence program I’m starting for my MBA where we didn’t sleep and had some unfortunate food choices.  I am NOT a buffet fan when its mystery food, and mystery meat and I are just not on speaking terms.  I felt especially bad for two group members who were vegetarians and with my brother having experienced lack of choices for the last 18 or so years I find it so frustrating when its thought that corn, mashed potatoes, and a roll constitute a meal?

Nevertheless Corrie would be quite pleased with me if I became more varied in my diet, so when pork went on sale a few weeks ago, I said what the heck.  Although I think I would allow it to marinade a bit longer to get even more of the flavor in, I would make this again.  I added a little bit of rice wine vinegar to the rice to add a little bit extra flavor which I found delightful, but I also have a strange love for rice wine vinegar at the moment…p.s. there’s a few vegetarian posts on their way for a little shout out to my awesome brother who I got to see this weekend!!!

All ready to go…

Yum…eat me!

Pacific Pork Kebabs with Pineapple Rice

Adapted from: Annie’s Eats Originally from: Martha Stewart Living

Kebabs:

  • Reserved juice from draining 1 -8 oz. can pineapple tidbits (the tidbits are used in the rice so they don’t go to waste!)
  • 1/3 c. honey, warmed
  • 1 lb. pork tenderloin, 1 1/2″ cubes
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped into kebab-sized pieces about 1 1/2″ (I used red and orange)
  • Salt and pepper

Rice:

  • 1 c. long-grain white rice (I think I’m going to try it next time with shorter rice to get a sticker texture.)
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 1 – 8 oz. can pineapple tidbits, drained and juice reserved for kebabs
  • 1 tsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1/4 c. rice wine vinegar (optional)

In a bowl large enough for the pork, mix together the honey and 2 tbsp. of the pineapple juice.   (You can do what I did and drink the remaining pineapple juice or mix it with some alcohol for a tasty treat!)  Salt and pepper the pork cubes, then add them to the bowl and combine to coat well.  Refrigerate covered for 30 minutes or slightly longer. Either make sure your grill grates are oiled or use a grill basket, and with the grill on medium-high heat, put the pork and peppers on.  We used the grill basket, but just make sure the pork is cooked through about 10-15 minutes.

While cooking the pork, start cooking the rice using the method stated on the box.  When the rice is done, mix in scallions, pineapple tidbits, ginger, and rice wine vinegar if using.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

