I had a series of miserable food failures this week.  First, I made herb biscuits that ended up more like wet paste than biscuit dough (which I am very proud of myself that I actually gave it another go with my own adaptations and now have some biscuits in the freezer), then I made Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls and apparently didn’t remember how to read directions (they came out okay anyways, but I’m curious what following the recipe would do to them!)  BUT!  This, my friends, was a food failure rectified.  I had tried these rolls once, my first experience with yeast, and NEWS FLASH…I may be learning; these were much tastier and had a much better texture than my first go-around.

French Bread Rolls

I nabbed this at: My Kitchen Cafe who adapted it from allrecipes.com

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water, approx. 110 degrees F
  • 1 Tbsp. active dry yeast
  • 2 Tbsp. white sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 4 cups bread flour (My Kitchen Cafe uses all-purpose)
In a bowl large enough for the flour and other ingredients, combine the warm water, yeast, and sugar.  Then, leave it alone until it gets foamy, about 10 minutes.
Then add the oil, salt, and 2 cups of flour to the mixture.  Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough has pulled away from the sides of the bowl.  On a lightly floured surface, dump out the dough, and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes. Lightly oil a large bowl, put the dough in the bowl turning to lightly coat with the oil. Cover with a damp cloth or saran, and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.
First deflate the dough, and then turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide the dough into 12-14 equal pieces, and form into round balls. Place on a lightly greased baking sheet or a silpat at least 2 inches apart.  Again, cover the rolls with a damp cloth or greased saran wrap, and let rise and double again, about 40 minutes.  While rising, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Bake for 12-13 minutes or until the pretty golden brown color has been achieved!
