I’ve only bought Velveeta once in my life thus far.  I have nothing against it; it’s just never seemed to make its way onto my shopping list, but a couple weeks back I made us burritos and wanted to try making the “traditional” homemade Velveeta and Rotel queso.  What I was left with was a large amount of Velveeta, and I was in need of a recipe, so when I came across this one; I was all set.  The original recipe included chicken which would have been a good addition, but I was just throwing this together for lunch on a Saturday, so I didn’t end up including it.

Cheesy Pasta & Broccoli
Adapted from at:  Cooking This and That.  Originally adapted from Katie of Good Things Catered

  • 1 lb. tube shaped pasta of your choice; I used rigatoni
  • 10 oz. Velveeta cheese, cubed
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, cubed
  • 1 Tbsp. milk
  • 3 Tbsp. white wine
  • 1 1/2 c.  cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 2 broccoli crowns, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 c. panko bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly spray a 13 x 9 baking dish with non-stick spray.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add broccoli to the water and cook for a few minutes (2 or 3) until bright green.  Now, because I’m lazy I didn’t bring a second pot of water to boil for my pasta.  I removed the cooked broccoli (into a bowl of ice water to shock them and help retain their bright green color), and then added salt and my rigatoni to my “broccoli” water.  Cook per box instructions until al dente.  Now, drain the pasta (what you thought I was going to use it again…gross. haha).

Put the drained pasta back into the pot and add the Velveeta, butter, and milk.  Over low heat, stir constantly until the Velveeta is basically melted.   Then add in 1 cup of the shredded cheddar and stir until completely melted.

Remove the pot from the heat and stir in the garlic powder, paprika,  and broccoli. Transfer mixture into the prepared 13 x 9 dish, and evenly spread the remaining cheese and bread crumbs on top.

Put in the oven for 20 minutes or until warm throughout.  Then, turn on your broiler on low and place the dish under until the bread crumbs and cheese begin to brown.

