For dessert for the cookout I decided, against all rational thinking since I was putting this all together at the last minute, that I wanted to make a cheesecake.  I settled on a Snickers cheesecake mostly because I ran to the store, picked up items I might be able to bake with and then decided what to make with what I had…wrong order.  So I made a few adaptations; the original recipe called for a chocolate wafer crust, but *shock* I’m not a huge chocolate person, but I LOVE graham cracker crusts.  Also, instead of the fudge sauce I decided to go with homemade caramel.  Anyways,  you’re also going to have to ignore the globs of caramel.  Refer below to caramel being extremely hot and overheating it.  On a side note, no one seemed to mind having a lot of caramel.

Snickers Cheesecake

Cheesecake Adapted from: Epicurean; Caramel Sauce from: Smitten Kitten

Crust:

  • 2 c. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 c. butter, melted

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. (3 bars) cream cheese, softened
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 1 c. heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 c. mini SNICKERS® Bars, chopped
Glaze:
  • 1 c. heavy cream
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 Tbsp. light corn syrup
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • (and…a candy thermometer)
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
Combine the graham cracker crumbs and butter, and press into the bottom and up the sides of a 9 1/2-inch springform pan.  A springform will make it super easy to present the cheesecake without the ugly pan in the way!  I pre-baked my crust in the oven to ward against it getting soggy, but I think I did it a few minutes too long, so next time I think I’ll just put it in for 5 minutes. I think I had put it in for 10 minutes originally.
In your mixing bowl combine the softened cream cheese (very important that it’s softened – otherwise you’ll have chunks of it left unincorporated in your filling) and sugar.  Beat until smooth.  Then, one at a time, add each egg.  Once incorporated, add the heavy cream and vanilla.  Scrape down the bowl, and then beat at medium speed for 5 minutes.
Fold in the chopped Snickers, and pour the filling into the crust.  Bake for approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes, or until the cheesecake is basically set in the center.  Let cool on a cooling rack for 1 to 2 hours.

If desired, you could add additional chopped Snickers to the top.  Since we had put this cookout together at the last minute, I didn’t have time to chill it in the refrigerator, but I do think chilling it would have improved the flavor even more.

For the caramel: Combine cream, brown sugar, corn syrup, and a pinch of salt in a 1 1/2-quart heavy saucepan over medium heat, bring to a boil, and stir until the brown sugar has dissolved.  At this point, my candy thermometer wouldn’t stay in, so instead of continuing to boil until the candy thermometer reads 210 to 212°F which should have taken 12 to 14 minutes, I just made my husband stir it while I try to clear out some of the dirty dishes.  I think our medium heat must be hotter, because I think we let it get too far in only half the time.   This helped contribute to the gloppy drizzling, because it had gotten too thick.  Also, at this point you’re supposed to stir in the vanilla, but in my haste, I forgot!  It was still delicious.    Once it becomes caramel, drizzle it over your cheesecake.

Warning: The caramel will be extremely hot; I didn’t realize how hot, but luckily what I touched had cooled for a minute otherwise this recipe would have gone straight into the garbage for its offense!!

Makes one 9-1/2 inch cheesecake.
