This was one of those days were we were tired from work, and I had planned to make this, but I didn’t really have the energy or interest to cook the chicken which the recipe originally calls for, so we went without.  Even in a lazy mood, this was a cinch to throw together.   With the chicken this would be a wonderful entree (or even without), but it’s definitely going to be used as a side item at a BBQ of mine someday.  However, although I’ve been warming to onions over the last few years, but this was a little too much for me so I’m going to reduce the amount next time – changes reflected below.  Goat cheese has a distinctive tang to it, so make sure you enjoy the flavor before you add it in!

I guess in my daze I also forgot to put in the grape tomatoes so they were just sad and lonely for Corrie in their container in the refrigerator.

Orzo Salad with Goat Cheese

Adapted from MyRecipes.com

  • 1 1/4 c. uncooked orzo
  • 1 1/2 c. arugula, trimmed
  • 1/2 c. red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/8 c. red onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano (supposed to be fresh, but I didn’t have any)
  • 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. black pepper
  • 6 Tbsp. (1 1/2 ounces) goat cheese, crumbled
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved (apparently optional for me!)
  • Diced cooked boneless skinless chicken breast, if desired

Cook pasta according to package directions, without any salt or fat called for, and drain well.

Mix together orzo, argula, red pepper, red onion, basil, oregano, and chicken, if using, in a bowl.

In a small separate bowl, whisk together vinegar, oil, salt, and black pepper.  Pour the dressing over the orzo and combine well.  Sprinkle or mix in the goat cheese.

