Well chalk this up as mildly unsuccessful.  Definitely edible, definitely a good recipe, but I will be making a few changes if/when I make this again.  The recipe calls for thin spaghetti, but I had capellini on hand, and I used that instead, but it was not al dente enough for me.

I grew up in a heavily Italian neighborhood; I could have easily ostracized for the texture of my pasta at the end of this meal; it wasn’t mushy but definitely past al dente.  So, I think next time I’m going to use a thicker noodle and pull it off with a strong bit of “tooth” left in it.  The other change/mistake, is that because I was so worried about overcooking the noodles and avoiding the recipe’s warning not to overcook to avoid drying out the noodles I don’t think I let it cook in the oven enough.  It didn’t achieve that nice golden color.

On a side note, this recipe makes a TON.  Either have friends over, feed it to a/your family, or halve it.

Baked Lemon Pasta

This recipe comes from the Pioneer Woman

  • 1 lb. thin spaghetti (next time I’m going to try with regular spaghetti or maybe if I’m feeling spunky thin spaghetti and I’ll just remove it quicker)
  • 4 tbsp. butter
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 c. sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • Parmesan cheese, grated (Cheese is my favorite food, so I’d say A LOT!)
  • Flat leaf parsley, chopped (I had curly on hand, so that’s what I used…)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cook spaghetti until al dente (I’m going to try just a few seconds under next time.).  Over low heat, melt butter with olive oil.  Then add the garlic and then the lemon juice.  Turn off the heat then add the cream and stir together.  Once combined,add the lemon zest and salt.

Pour mixture over drained spaghetti and combine, then pour spaghetti into an oven safe dish.  Cover with foil and bake for 15 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for an additional 7 to 10 minutes.  Remove from oven, and squeeze a little more lemon juice over the top if desired.  Dish yourself a portion and cover it completely so that you can’t even see the pasta….errr….I mean with a little bit of parmesan cheese and the parsley.

