Fattoush is healthy.  I think I need to go on a diet where I am only allowed to eat fattoush for a week and see if I can rid myself of the evidence of all these foolish sweets I’ve been making!  However, since I made Corrie a Reese’s cake with peanut butter frosting for his work potluck and my brother a red velvet birthday cake to be posted later, AND we’re going to Cleveland, Ohio for the 4th; I don’t see that happening this week!  I have high ambitions…I just put them off.

Eat this – it makes up for being undisciplined.

Keep in mind it’s a salad, so add more of what you like or less of what you don’t.  These are just suggestions!

Fattoush

  • 3-4 pieces of pita bread
  • 1 head iceberg lettuce, torn into pieces
  • 2 tbsp. parsley, chopped (traditionally curly, but I’ve used flat leaf if I have it on hand)
  • 2-3 green onions, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tomato, chopped (mysteriously missing in mine…)
  • 1 tbsp. sumac (this can usually be found with the international foods at your local grocery store)
  • 1/4 c. feta, optional

Dressing

  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. dried mint (or fresh if you have it – you’ll want to use about double)
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Toast the pita, break into bite-sized pieces and set aside.

Put the lettuce, parsley, vegetables, sumac, and feta into a bowl.  In a separate bowl whisk together the dressing ingredients.  Pour the dressing over the salad, add the pita chips, and toss to coat.  Serve immediately or the pita will get soggy.  If you’re not going to serve immediately, leave the pieces separate and then combine before serving otherwise you do what I did and take a late picture = soggy bread!

