Pesto is another delish item.  I could have and did – ek. eat it by the spoonful (what level of weirdness does this put me at?  kind of weird or more of a you should probably see a doctor for that weird?)  Anyways, in case you couldn’t tell, it’s tasty stuff in my book.

Then you go and combine pesto with fresh mozzerella…goodness.  I used 1/2 of the homemade pizza dough stretched it out in an unattractive fashion and spread it with pesto and slices of mozzerella goodness.  That pizza dough is also wonderful as 1/2 of the dough I used for the pizza and the other half I stuck in the refrigerator and made calzones with tonight!

Pesto

Pesto

Recipe courtesy of my cute mommy (ex-caterer/Lebanese – let me tell you, she knows what she’s doing in a kitchen)

  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup parmesean cheese, grated
  • 4 sprigs parsley
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic – depends on your tastes; I usually use 4

In a food processor, blend together the nuts, garlic, salt, cheese, parsley and basil.  Process for 10 seconds. Add the oil in a slow streams and continue to process for 20 to 30 seconds or until sauce is smooth. This will keep in a covered container in the refrigerator for 4 weeks, or in the freezer for 6 months.

My mom sometimes divides the sauce into ice cube trays and freezes them until firm.  Then she puts in a freezer zip lock bag so you can take them out whenever you need them which is great because then you only reheat what you need!

Pesto Pizza


