Although we had cake (to be posted…) in celebration of my birthday a day earlier, I, of course, decided another sweet was needed on my actual birthday after our fun birthday dinner out.  These were super yummy – I think this was the first time I ever made my own blondies, and after making these I’m definitely sure it won’t be the last!

Coconut Chocolate Chip Blondies

Coconut Chocolate Chip Blondies

I originally found at: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/05/22/coconut-chocolate-chunk-blondies/#more-2214 (adapted from About.com Southern Food)

Makes about 12-14 bars depending on how large you slice them…I don’t really know as we kept eating them 😦

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 8 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
  • 1 cup chocolate chips or chunks

For the drizzle on top (completely optional – we ended eating the first ones without as we ate them straight out of the oven…whoops)

  • 1 cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. butter

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Butter and flour (or use the combined spray like Baker’s Joy like I did) an 8-inch square baking pan.  Mix together the flour and salt; set aside. In a different bowl, mix the melted butter and brown sugar until smooth then beat in the egg and the vanilla extract until well blended.  Then add in the flour mixture only until its just incorporated; then stir in the coconut and chocolate chips.

Pour batter into the baking pan and smooth out the top.   Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until set in the center but still soft.  Let the bars cool slightly before drizzling.

To make the drizzle put the chocolate and butter in a microwavable bowl and microwave in 15-30-second intervals until melted and smooth. Using a small plastic bag with the edge cut or spoon, drizzle over the bars.  I also added extra coconut to garnish.

