dscf3083

I had a taste for lemonade, and although it’s decided to rain for the last 72 hours and continue into the week, living much further south than what we’re used to for spring means it feels like summer already.

I looked for a lemonade at the grocery store, but if I’m at all normal (questionable), most of it doesn’t taste quite right, so I decided to try making my own.  And, please excuse the picture as I didn’t get around to taking it until we had already had seconds…

Basic Lemonade Recipe Base

  • 1 cup of freshly squeezed lemon juice, this was approx. 4 lemons for me
  • 5 cups of water + 1 cup for simple syrup
  • 1 1/3 cups of sugar

1.  Squeeze the lemons, and pour into pitcher.

2.  Combine 1 cup of water and 1 1/3 cups of sugar in a small saucepan over medium-high heat.  Stir to combine and bring to a boil.  Once the sugar has completely dissolved, remove from the heat to cool.

3.  Once cool, add the remaining 5 cups of water (or more or less depending on how tart you like your lemonade) and the simple syrup to the pitcher.  Stir to combine, and serve over ice or refrigerate.

Next time I think I’d like to mix things up a little by adding either a lemon-lime soda instead of part or all the water to make sparkling lemonade, cranberry juice, or my husband’s idea…vodka.

