Today is ‘disturbing’ Derby day.  Generally I’m not one for watching horse racing; I love the hats, and wish I could go just to wear one, but I can’t help but remark that I’d like to use the whips on the jockeys and see how they enjoy it pretty much every time I watch.  However, last year, my husband told me to pick my favorite, and I obliged.  Unfortunately, I picked Eight Bells, and needless to say, it was a disturbing experience…

Nevertheless, if I had thought of it earlier, we could have had Mint Juleps and Derby pie, but I didn’t so I decided to try this black bean and corn salsa to munch on during the activities.  We really enjoyed the tartness and sweetness of this salsa – the balsamic vinegar is a wonderful addition.  I ended up adding a little lime juice, and I think I’d put slightly less cumin next time – changes reflected below.

dscf30882

Black Bean & Corn Salsa

adapted from allrecipes.com by way of  http://lizscookingblog.blogspot.com/2007/12/black-bean-and-corn-salsa.html

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 8 ounces frozen sweet corn
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • Tortilla chips

Instructions:

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together balsamic vinegar, oil, salt, sugar, black pepper, cumin,  chili powder, and lime juice.
  2. Add black beans and corn, and toss to coat.
  3. Cover, and refrigerate overnight.
