No Bake Cookies

8 Dec

Somehow I’ve managed to make these way more times than my jeans would like, but I haven’t blogged about them yet.

They were unfortunately an excellent treat to make when it was too hot outside to turn the oven on inside.  Even now that I’m in the South I’m beginning to forget what that was like….brr!

These are too easy to make and unfortunately I usually have the ingredients on hand.  One day, as you can see from the “rear” cookie, I decided to also add some marshmallows to the mix!  Now I’d like to also inform you that this mixture is delicious eaten from a spoon if you can’t wait the very short time they take to harden, but how would I know? ;)

No Bake Cookies

  • ½ cup (1 stick) butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • ½ cup milk
  • 4 Tbsp. cocoa powder
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • marshmallows, optional

Add butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa powder to a 4-quart saucepan. Bring the mixture to a rolling boil and let it boil for 1 minute.  Remove from heat.

Add the peanut butter and vanilla stir until smooth, then stir in the oats (and marshmallows if using).

Drop by heaping tablespoons (mine are huge in the picture…so I may have used several heaping tablespoons) onto wax paper-lined baking sheets.  Then, let cool until set.

Recipe found at Brown Eyed Baker, adapted from Ezra Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

