Queso Chicken Pasta

20 Oct

Corrie always seems to enjoy cheesy/mexican-ish/pasta type items, probably particularly because there always seems to be enough for him to take for lunch the next day.  Since I’m not a leftover lover (in most cases…there are a few that I like), just another reason why I like that guy. :)

This was good; I think my only change would be to add a full box of pasta (12 oz.) which I’ve reflected below.  I think the sauce could have stretched, and I don’t like having little bits of things left in boxes…I’m my father’s daughter! Actually, he would probably cut down the box to make it smaller and more condensed.  I don’t go quite that far!

I think it’s nearly impossible to take a pretty picture of one of these kind of dishes, but I wouldn’t exactly say my efforts to get a perfect picture were very high either.  Oh, and I used whole wheat pasta that day so that’s why my pasta looks a little brown. ;)

Queso Chicken Pasta

  • 12 ounces penne pasta
  • 2 tsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced (I thought this dish had a little heat so I might reduce to 1/2 jalapeno if you don’t love spice.  Remove the ribs and seeds!)
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. coriander
  • 1 tbsp. flour (I used skim milk so I probably used 1 1/2 tbsp.)
  • 1 1/3 cup milk, 2% or higher (I used skim and a touch extra flour.)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 tbsp. cream cheese
  • 6 ounces colby-jack cheese, divided
  • 1/2 cup drained RoTel tomatoes
  • 2 cups cooked shredded or cubed chicken

Heat the oven to 350 F and spray a casserole dish with non-stick spray.

Cook the pasta according to the package directions, but reduce the cooking time by two minutes.

In a medium pot, heat the oil over medium heat.  Once it begins to shimmer add the onion, garlic, and peppers.  Cook until they begin to soften, about three minutes.  Add the cumin, coriander, and salt, and cook for an additional minute, or until the spices become fragrant.

Add the flour and cook for three minutes, stirring constantly.  Gradually whisk in the milk, and stir until smooth.  Bring the mixture to a simmer, and allow to thicken.

Turn off the heat, and add the cream cheese and 4 ounces of the shredded cheese and whisk until melted.  Stir in the RoTel tomatoes.

Pour the pasta into the prepared casserole dish, stir in the shredded chicken and sauce.   Top with the remaining shredded cheese.

Bake 20 to 30 minutes, or until the pasta is bubbly and the cheese has melted.  Let stand five minutes before serving.

Source: Evil Shenanigans

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

