Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki (YUM!)

20 Jun

I would like to know what there is not to love about tzatziki.

  • Associated with Mediterranean cuisine – one of my favorites – Check
  • Cucumbers – Check
  • Dill – Check
  • …you see where this is going

Gyros seem to be popular on several different food blogs at the moment so I went to elly says opa! to find inspiration which is where I found this recipe.  Again part of the afterthought photo series…

Chicken Gyros

Chicken Gyros (adapted from elly says opa!)

  • 1-1 1/2 lbs. chicken breasts
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • Juice of a lemon
  • 2 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 heaping Tbsp. plain yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. dried oregano
  • salt and pepper

Condiments

  • Tzatziki  (I used elly’s recipe which can be found here; the only change I made was I LOVE dill so I threw some in – all I had on hand was dried, but oh my, the thought of it with fresh dill makes me salivate.)
  • Red onion
  • Tomatoes (bleech, these are for Corrie)
  • Pita bread

Combine garlic, lemon juice, vinegar, oil, yogurt, and oregano in a ziploc bag.   Add the chicken breasts and massage to coat the chicken with the marinade.   Refrigerate for an hour.

Using whatever cooking method you prefer- we did this on the grill – season with salt and pepper on both sides of the chicken breasts and cook through.

Heat or warm up your pitas.  I thought we would warm them for just a minute on the grill, but they ended up too crispy, so next time I think I will either warm them in the microwave for a minute or better yet, make my own pita (next goal!) and then it would probably work to grill it for just a couple seconds.    Top the pita with chicken, tzatziki, onions, tomatoes or whatever you desire and enjoy!

One Response to “Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki (YUM!)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Repeats « PEAs and Cues - May 2, 2010

    [...] Chicken Gyros [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

